So summer flew by and I’m back in school.  Two weeks into the semester and I’m already swamped, but I promised myself I’d find time to show you all my new favorite FO.  Back at the beginning of the summer we got in some Madelinetosh Pashmina at Loop (and I just heard a rumor more is coming soon).  I’d been waiting and waiting for it to arrive and I knew just what it was going to be.  The pattern I’d earmarked was the lovely Mary Jane Tee by the ladies of Zephyr Style and published Winter ’08 twist collective.  And the result is as awesome as I’d hoped.  See below for my (somewhat silly) so-happy-about-my-new-sweater face.

Pattern: Mary Jane (ravelry)

Source: Winter ’08 Twist Collective

Yarn: Madelinetosh, Pashmina

Needles: US 2 & 3

Started: June 7, 2010

Finished: August 20,2010

Find it on Ravelry here.

The yarn is definitely a huge factor in what makes this sweater so special.  That brilliant blue is certainly not going to let my fly under the radar.  It is just an insanely beautiful color, which is of course we we all love Tosh so much.  But the base is impossibly good as well.  Pashmina is super soft and smooth.  It is full and springy.  It has the slightest halo, just enough to feel, but not so much that it obscures the brilliance of the colors.  It has lovely stitch definition, making it great for this pattern.  And while I’m normally a t-shirt under my sweaters kind of girl, I really just want to wear this against my skin.

The pattern of course, is the sweetest of sweet.  Especially, I think, when one chooses the second sleeve style option and goes for the cap sleeve.  The cap sleeve directions are not published in the Twist Collective version of the pattern, however I emailed Sarah from Zephyr style and she sent me the portion of the pattern, with the changes for the cap sleeve.  The ease of the exchange convinced me completely of the awesomeness of Zephyr Style.  That and the fact that the pattern is smart and easy to understand.

The construction is a pretty standard top down raglan, with the main difference being the openness of the neckline.  In general it’s a pretty simple sweater, but it’s made more interesting by the details and the bands of textural stitch patterning.  Some favorite details include: the garter ridge at the top of the sleeve, the subtly changing width of pattern bands, and the eyelets at the top of the hem ribbing.

Mostly I knit the sweater as written.  The one exception is a added a few decreases for shaping after the bust.  I didn’t want the tee to be skin tight, but I did want it to have a body conscious fit, and after trying it on as I went, it was clear that one me decreases were going to be required to achieve that effect.  In the end, I’m very happy with the fit.  It’s just what I wanted.  And I can’t wait for it to cool down a bit so I can wear this guy for more than just a Copenhagen photoshoot!

