For my birthday my darling mother gave me a subscription to the first Three Irish Girls Sock Yarnistasock yarn club.  In a very timely fashion the first month’s yarn showed up on Tuesday.  So here it is, the July 2008 offering from the Sock Yarnista club.

 

(WARNING, SPOILERS FOLLOW!!)

(A note on spoilers: because this is not an especially spoilery club I feel ok posting the yarn I get on my blog.  Also it’s so pretty how could I not.  But I do know some members are trying to be surprised when they open their package, so I will try to post this warning each month.  But readers beware, this blog will now contain Sock Yarnista spoilers on a monthly basis.)

Yarn:Three Irish Girls, Kells Sport Merino

Color: Lady Slipper (July 08 club color)

Dye Lot: initial club run

Amount:one skein at 330 yds

Purchased at:through Sock Yarnista club

stashed on Ravelry here

The yarn is so incredibly beautiful.  I cannot wait to knit it up. I keep fondling it, and it feels amazing.  And it smells good too.  Which is probably because it was packed in with two tiny bottles of a lovely looking woolwash that I also can’t wait to try.  Seriously, my newly blocked items will now smells so good.  I am beyond excited about this club.  Who doesn’t love birthday gifts that last half the year?

The other fantastic thing about this club is that it comes with a pattern each month.  This month the pattern is called Popsicle and is by Nicole Hindes.  It can be found on Ravelry here.  I love the pattern, but I had actually had my heart set on using this yarn for the Spring Forward socks from the summer Knitty.  So I think I will save this pattern for another time, but it’s definitely been added to the queue.

