Oh goodness am I feeling productive lately.  In preparation for the Ravelympics, I’ve been trying to get a few things out of the way.  I finished these up on Tuesday and am on the verge of finishing another project.  So take a peak. 

Pattern: The Button-Up Socks (ravelry)

Source: ShibuiKnits

Yarn: ShibuiKnits Sock in Peacock (2 skeins)

Needles: US 1 & US 2

 

Started: May 21, 2008

Finished: July 28, 2008

Overall these were a super easy knit, but sewing all the buttons on was a bit tedious.  22 shank buttons is not exactly my idea of a good time.  But I loved the way they turned out, so it’s all worth it (and isn’t this usually the case?).  And the next time I have a pressing need for socks that look like spats I’m totally set.

The yarn knit up so beautifully.  I’m usually not a fan of anything the self stripes or even approximates that look, but because the difference in color is so subtle I really love it. 

The buttons didn’t photograph as well as I would have liked, but each sock has 10 vintage pearl shank buttons, with one contrast vintage grey pearlescent button in the top buttonhole.  This was really a matter of necessity.  I could not find the kind of buttons I wanted in more than sets of 20 matching without spending far too much.  But I actually love the way it looks.  I think in the end it really set the ribbing apart from the rest of the sock in a way I’m really fond of.  It’s always great when things work out this way.  As Anzevino & Florencewould say “sometimes catastrophes become trophies”.

Find them on Ravelry here.

