One thing I learned this year during birthday week is that my friends and family are enablers. The gifts I received were amazing and much to my delight almost all of them fell into my three favorite categories: fibery gifts, fashiony gifts and bookish gifts. And since you’re a lucky bunch, I’m going to share the fibery ones with you.

As I’ve already mentioned my mother gave my a membership to the Three Irish Girls sock yarn club. My parents also gave me a new sewing machine(!!), the KnitPicks lace blocking wires, Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush, and Favorite Socks. Seriously am I a lucky girl or what?

But some friends also got in on the fibery goodness as well.

I received this amazing early 90s knitting book called Floral Knits. It is a chock-a-block full of so bad they’re good patterns. While I may never use a single shape in there, the charts are really incredible. And with some slightly different color choices and application I think they could each be something really great!

I was also giving some amazingly gorgeous coordinating yarns. I’m still looking for just the right pattern to highlight their beauty together, but here’s a little more to feast your eyes upon.

Yarn: Three Irish Girls, Adorn Sock

Color: Connemara Valley

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 430 yds

Purchased at: gifted!

stashed on Ravelry here

Yarn: Tilli Tomas, Voile de la Mer

Color: Mermaid

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 290 yds

Purchased at: gifted!

stashed on Ravelry here

And there was a gift certificate to A Tangled Skein, which may just be my new favorite knitting store.  Oh the enabling never stops!

It was such a fantastic birthday, and I am so incredibly grateful to all of my friends & family for their gifts (fibery, fashiony and bookish) and all they did to make it special. I was beyond touched by how much effort was put into making my day a great one (did I mention I also got a mural for my birthday?). So if you’re out there listening, thank you everyone!

