Ok I could probably think up a more creative title if it wasn’t nearly 2am, but it is, so you’re stuck with what you’ve got.  I am, like so many other ravelers, participating in the Ravelympics, which began yesterday.  Which means my full knitting attention will be devoted to the following two projects through August 24 (unless I finish up early).  Which most likely means a lot of my blogging attention will be devoted there as well.  So you’re sure to get frequent updates.

My first event is the sock put.  The pattern I’ve chosen is Spring Forward from the most recent Knitty and I’m working with my first Three Irish Girls sock club yarn.

Here was my progress as of this morning.  I was just a few rows past the first pattern repeat.  I’ve now completed two and a half pattern repeats and I’m ready to start the heel.  Initially I didn’t like the way it was pooling, so after doing almost a full pattern repeat I ripped it out and started alternating rows pulling from two balls.  I just prefer a more scattered look with variegated yarns.  Even though it was a bit of a set back, I’m glad I made that decision, since I like it much better now.

My second event is the cowl jump, for which I am using the Razor Shell Neckwarmer pattern and Blue Sky Alpaca Silk.

I’ve only knit about 8 rows on this project.  I actually cast on once and knit the first pattern row and realized that when calculating the extra repeats I added into the pattern I made a goof and had cast on the wrong number of stitches, so I had to start over (luckily that was only 5 rows in the project).  Because I know this project will go much faster I’m trying to focus as much on my socks as possible for now to make sure I can get them done.

The detail shot doesn’t help you see the pattern yet, but you sure can see how fuzzy the yarn is.  I do love alpaca.

