Alright I have finished my first Ravelympics project for the Sock Put event. You’ve seen the progress, now see the full pair.

Pattern: Spring Forward (ravelry)

Source: Knitty Summer 2008

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Kells Sport Merino in Lady Slipper (1 kein)

Needles: US 1

Started: August 8, 2008

Finished: August 21, 2008

Avoiding pooling with this yarn and pattern combination took a little work. I generally prefer a more random look with variegated yarns, so I pulled from two balls and alternated rows. While working on the first sock I actually manipulated the look even more by cutting and rejoining the yarn to mix up where colors came in a number of different times. On the second sock I was worried about running out of yarn, so I didn’t use this technique. But I am a bit happier with the lack of pooling on the first sock.

I also tried a new kind of short row heel on this pair of socks. I’ve long preferred short row heels, but was never able to pick up wraps perfectly, but with this pair I worked the short row heel as detailed in the “Beyond the Basics: Toe Up Socks” article by Ann Budd in the Summer 2007 issue of Interweave Knits. It is based one Priscilla A. Gibson-Robert’s short row heel. I found this style much easier and was incredibly pleased with the end result. This may be my new go to heel. Just to clarify, I worked these socks top down which is my preferred method, but still worked the short row heel from that pattern.

I think the choice of this yarn for this pattern was a great one. You can still clearly see the stitch pattern, but there’s still all the fun of a variegated yarn (I really am a sucker for them). And now I’m a ravelympian.

Find them on Ravelry here.

