I believe I’ve mentioned before how hard it is to devote myself to even one or two projects.  Therefore, the Ravelympics were a real exercise in discipline for me.  The point was of course to challenge oneself, and it was most definitely a challenge for me to commit to two projects, especially since I mostly worked on one at a time exclusively until each was finished.  The result has been a serious backlash.  My WIP ADD has reared its ugly head, and in addition to picking back up the projects that I put aside for the Ravelympics, I’ve started 3 new projects in the last week.  And it required serious self restraint not to start another.  I thought I’d give you all a peak at the new projects in my life.

The first project I started after the Ravelympics, and the project that is furthest along is a version of the Weaver’s Wool Mini Shawl in stripes inspired by Mustaa Villaa.  The pattern is incredibly simple, but her end product looked so lovely that I couldn’t help but want one.  And we can all use a little mindless knitting every now and then.  I also can’t remember the last time I knit anything on 10s, so I pretty much can’t believe how fast it’s working up.  Find it on ravelry here.

You’d think one lace scarf at a time would be enough, but that Malabrigo Lace had just been sitting in my stash bins for too long.  So I went ahead and cast of for the Leaf Lace Scarf.  I did two pattern repeats and haven’t picked it up since, but I’m sure I’ll head back to it soon since I’ve just started and I already love the way it looks.  Find it on ravelry here.

Fifth time’s the charm, or so say I.  After starting these socks four times with different patterns and disliking how they looked in the yarn, I have finally settled on a yarn and pattern combo I like.  This is the Sunshine Yarns Soft Sock I blogged about awhile back and the pattern I finally chose is Kew.  This pattern is a bit slow moving, but at this point I firmly believe the look is worth the effort.  I decided to use a traditional ribbed cuff instead of the scalloped garter cuff.  I just tend to prefer the look of a classic rib cuff, and they really can’t be beat practically speaking.  There are few things I hate more than socks that fall down.   Find them on ravelry here.

