While DC’s weather hasn’t exactly headed into brisk territory yet, it is September, which means I can’t think about anything but Fall.  Fall is my favorite season.  Part, but not all of the appeal, is that it is great knitting weather.  This year however, I may have so over committed myself in the gift knitting department that I might not be enjoying that knitting time in the selfish way I normally do.  Between the projects I’ve picked out for Christmas gifts, and the fact that about half the people I know have birthdays in between now and December 25* I have my work cut out for me.

In an attempt to avoid paying shipping on a million yarn orders or making weekly trips to the yarn store I tried to plan ahead and placed one big Knit Picks order that should encompass almost all of my gift knitting.  The massive pile you see above showed up late last week.  I think it’s safe to say, I made selections based on a muted palette.

The real trickiness behind all this gift knitting is that a lot of it has to be secret until it is gifted.  Which means I may not have as much to show you all for awhile.  But there is some good news.  Due to a lack of opportunities for good photographs I have a handful of backed up FOs to share with all of you.  So hopefully soon, I can get some good space and some good light and show you what all those look like.

And to reward myself for all my generosity, I did throw in a couple things for myself.  Most likely to be enjoyed post December 25.

*If any of you autumn birthday folks are reading this don’t everyone of you assume now that you’re getting hand knit gifts.  I have some other things in the works for a few of you.  And also whether you do get a knit gift or not has nothing to do with how much I love you, only what seemed most appropriate.

