Two big things happened at the end of last week blog-wise.  The first was that Peaceful Knitter sent an “I love your blog” award my way.  How exciting!

Instead of using the same graphic, I decided to use a photo of a card I picked up at Crafty Bastards last weekend from the perennial favorite Something’s Hiding In Here.  It’s only moderately appropriate since it’s not actually a best blog award, but I love the card and the ribbon is at least right.  Besides I always have to do things my way.  Either way I am so honored to have anyone love my blog and think it’s worth an award of any kind.  I honestly only started this blog on an impulse (you’ve heard of impulse shopping, well this is impulse blogging).  I had resisted having one for ages and then one day I just though “Oh why not?”  And I’m so glad I started because it’s become really fun.  So I’m really flattered that others are enjoying it too.

The other thing that happen, was that within 24 hours of finding out about the award, my blog tipped over the 1,000 hits mark.  That’s right, one thousand.  Compared to the favorite and mostly highly trafficked knitting blogs, it’s nothing, but for my little blog, which is only three months old, it’s quite a big deal.  Or so I think anyway.

So in order to celebrate two exciting firsts, I’m going to go for another first.  My blogs first giveaway!

These are the spoils!  After ages spent trying to get a decent photograph this was the best I could do as these colors wash out very easily in pictures, but hopefully it’s enough to entice you.  Up for grabs are two skeins of Berocco Ultra Alpaca in color 6246 which is a dark evergreen, and one skein of Ella Rae Silkience in color 18 which is a deep purple, almost an eggplant.  Berocco Ultra Alpaca is one of my favorite yarns.  It’s half wool, half alpaca content make it soft and fuzzy without being too heavy.  It’s really lovely to work with.  But I’ve got loads of it and this color is the least “me”.  The Silkience was lovely to work with as well, but I overbought for a project and don’t have anything else in mind for this skein.  So they are available to you as my way of saying thank you for reading!

Here’s what you have to do.  There are two options, both of them involve posting a comment.  Option number one is to post a comment with a link to a project that you think fits the description “knitting pretty”.  It can be a link to a ravelry project page, a blog post, or a flickr photo, but it must be your own project.  It can be an FO or in progress.  I love seeing what other people are doing, so this will be a fun treat for me.  Option number two is to post something you love about or have enjoyed about DC, whether you are a local, a frequent visitor or just someone who came once on an eight grade trip.  Share a story, tell us about your favorite spot, whatever you think is best, as long as it’s something great about DC.  Then next Tuesday, October 14, I will use the random number generator to give me a number of a comment, and the author of that comment will be the winner of the spoils!  Thanks for reading and good luck with the giveaway!

