This post has been a long time coming.  I finished these some time ago (you may remember me blogging about my progress way back when), but I wanted to write up my modification to the pattern before posting about it.  I’ve finally had the time to do that, so now I’m ready to show you.  The other tricky bit about this post was deciding whether or not to use pictures of myself in the garment (you know, since it is under garments).  The self conscious part of myself said “no”, but in the end my desire to let you all see what the modification really looks like won out.

Pattern: my own modification of the Criss Cross Garter (ravelry)

Source: Naughty Needles

Yarn: Ella Rae, Silkience

Needles: US 3

Started: June 18, 2008

Finished: July 31, 2008

Find it on ravelry here.

I made a pretty substantial modification to this pattern.  The pattern is written to be a garter belt, but I modified it to be actual underwear.  I also chose to leave the garter straps off.  I’ve written up a pattern for the modification and I’m going to share it with you.  The modification is only written for size Medium, which is the size that I made, but the principals could likely be applied to the other sizes relatively easily using your own measurements.  Also please let me know if you find any mistakes and I’ll correct them.


Modification for Criss Cross Garter

Follow pattern as written until you reach the section titled Lower Edge.

FRONT SIDE

Row 1 (RS): Sl 1, k1, p1, k1, p2, p21, PM, k23, PM, p23, p2, k1, p1, k2.
Row 2 (WS): Sl1, *k1, p1, repeat from * to 1st marker, p to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.
Row 3 (WS): Sl1, *k1, p1, repeat from * to 1st marker, k to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.

Repeat last 2 rows twice more. Then work Row 2 once more.

Next Row (RS): BO to 4 sts before 1st marker, work 4 sts in seed st, SM, k to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.
Next Row (WS): BO to 4 sts before 1st marker, work 4 sts in seed st, SM, p to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.

DECREASES

Row 1 (RS):
Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, ssk, k to 2 sts before marker, k2tog, SM, work last 4 sts in seed st.
Row 2 (WS): Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, p to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.

Repeat last 2 rows until 3 sts remain between markers.

Next Row (RS): Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, k to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.
Next Row (WS): Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, p to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.

Repeat last 2 rows for one inch.  Place sts on holder.


BACK SIDE


Row 1 (RS):
Sl 1, k1, p1, k1, p2, p28, PM, k23, PM, p28, p2, k1, p1, k2.
Row 2 (WS): Sl1, *k1, p1, repeat from * to 1st marker, p to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.
Row 3 (WS): Sl1, *k1, p1, repeat from * to 1st marker, k to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.

Repeat last 2 rows twice more. Then work Row 2 once more.

Next Row (RS):
BO to 4 sts before 1st marker, work 4 sts in seed st, SM, k to 2nd marker, *p1, k1, repeat from * to last st, k1.
Next Row (WS): BO to 4 sts before 1st marker, work 4 sts in seed st, SM, p to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.

DECREASES

Row 1 (RS): Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, ssk, k to 2 sts before marker, k2tog, SM, work last 4 sts in seed st.
Row 2 (WS): Work 4 sts in seed st, SM, p to 2nd marker, work last 4 sts in seed st.

Repeat last 2 rows until 3 sts remain between markers. Graft together with live sts from Front Side.

