That’s right, I’ve just returned from my one day jaunt up to Baltimore for Stitches East. I picked up a bundle of yarn but managed to stay within my budget! At the last minute plans changed and my Mom was able to join me, which made it even more fun. We at least peaked at every booth, which since we took no break to ate, put us pretty close to passing out. I met some great yarn folk, more than a few of them being ladies I truly admire. I picked up some really fantastic things and eve got a deal or two. I’ve only taken pictures of about half of my haul at this point, so this will be the first of two installments detailing what exactly I scored.

Yarn: Malabrigo, Sock

Color: Lettuce

Dye Lot: 310703

Amount: one skein at 440 yds

Purchased at: Great Yarns! booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

This was on my must buy list. I pre-ordered one skein from Yarnzilla that I haven’t gotten yet, as a back up in case I got to Stitches and all the Malabrigo Sock was sold out, but I managed to find this gorgeous skein as well. I cannot wait to use this yarn I’ve been dying to try it since buzz about its release first started to come out months ago.

Yarn: JaggerSpun, Zephyr Wool Silk

Color: Pewter – 205

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 630yds

Purchased at: Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

A week or so ago I stumbled on a Ravelry thread where folks were talking about what their favorite lace weight yarn was. This one was incredibly popular, so when I saw it at Stitches for $11 for 630y ds I snatched it up. I wish I could remember what booth I bought it at though.

Yarn: Fleece Artist, Sea Wool

Color: Victoria

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 382 yds

Purchased at: Yarn4Socks booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

Apart from Malabrigo Sock this yarn has been on the top of my “too try” list for ages. I’ve heard great things about yarn will Seacell in general and this one in particular and I’ve really wanted to know what all the fuss was about. I spotted this skein early on in the day, but I’d already done some pretty significant damage in a short time, and wanted to make sure I had some funds left for later so I decided to hold back. We happened to walk by the booth on our way out the door and I spotted a sign that said it had been marked down since we first walked by. The skein I had been looking at was still there, so I had to go for it.

Yarn: Rowan, Cocoon

Color: Seascape

Dye Lot: 70100

Amount: one skein at 126 yds

Purchased at: Rosie’s Yarn Cellar booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

This is another yarn I’ve heard great things about. I was looking for a bulky weight yarn with some sheen to it for the Axel Mitts and I spotted this. The color is amazing, the sheen is amazing and it feels so soft. It was right at the end of the day, so all my resolve had worn down and I just went for it. Not that I regret it. It’s so, so pretty.

Yarn: Habu, XS-45 20/3

Color: Eggplant

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 574 yds

Purchased at: Habu booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

I’ve never knit with a Habu yarn before and I’ve wanted to try one for awhile.  Their yarns always seem so luxurious.  This lace weight bamboo is no exception.  The color is gorgeous and it has a high sheen.  For a minute after getting home and unpacking my bag I thought I had managed to leave it in the gelato shop we hit after lunch on our way out of town.  I was completely panicked, but it turned out to be safely in mothers car, so I will get to find out fabulous their yarns are after all.

That’s it for now.  I’ll show you the other things I picked up (only a few more) once I get a chance to take pictures of them all.  Hopefully I’ll get to that in the next few days.

