…trips to my LYS that is.  I’ve got the pictures together of the rest of the lovely things I acquired at Stitches East.  So here is the second half of what I brought home with me from Baltimore this weekend.  I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I do.

Yarn: Yarn Love, Elizabeth Bennett

Color: Bella

Dye Lot:

Amount: two skeins at 195 yds each

Purchased at: Yarn Love booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

Oh my gosh is this yarn amazingly gorgeous.  It’s almost hard for me to come up with anything else to say because it’s just so pretty.  It’s pretty to touch, and pretty to look at and it smells pretty.  Really, really pretty.  At first I planned to make socks with it, but someone has put the bug in my ear that it might just be too pretty for socks and I think they might just be right.

Yarn: Black Water Abbey, 2 Ply Worsted

Color: Navy

Dye Lot: 131207

Amount: one skein at 220 yds

Purchased at: Black Water Abbey booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

I’d seen the gorgeous colors that Black Water Abbey comes in and knew I wanted to get my hands on some.  I’ve been wanting to make a new hat and I’ve been in the mood to do one with cables.  I haven’t picked a specific pattern yet, but I thought a classic Irish Aran yarn of this type would be well suited to a hat of that kind.  And while the color is dark, I don’t think it’s so dark that the cables will disappear.  While the colorway is called Navy it’s really more like a mottled black and purple.  It’s very unique.

Yarn: Malabrigo, Dos Test Skeins

Color: Blue Bellis

Dye Lot:

Amount: two skeins at 150 yds each

Purchased at: Malabrigo booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

One of the booths I was most excited about visiting was the Malabrigo booth.  I got to see Antonio and Tobias.  I got to see mini Malabrigo made Bob and his herd of sheep.  And I knew that if I name dropped my Junkies affiliation I would get some test skeins if there were any left.  And I did!  These two lovely skeins of the new Malabrigo yarn Dos feel like they have a lot of sproing.  I’ve never encountered this before in a Malabrigo yarn, so I’m really looking forward to knitting it up and getting a sense of what it feels like to work with.

Yarn: Yarn Love, Marianne Dashwood

Color: Summer Sangria

Dye Lot:

Amount: one skein at 330 yds

Purchased at: Yarn Love booth, Stitches East

stashed on ravelry here

This is my other score from the Yarn Love booth.  Let me not forget to mention that this particular booth was also very high on my list.  It was also the only booth where I purchased more than one item.  And this second of the two, while it doesn’t bring on full out fainting spells like the first is also really gorgeous.  The facets of the color are amazing and I know a stitch pattern will stand out very well with the slight sheen and even twist this yarn has.  It tends to be a struggle to keep myself from buying variegated sock yarn, but when the semi-solid yarns look like this, it becomes a whole lot easier.  Now to pick the perfect pattern for the perfect semi solid yarn.

