What have I been up to other than just acquiring more and more yarn?  A lot of secret gift knitting, a lot of knitting that’s now hibernating as a result of frustration, but also a little knitting I can share with you.

Pattern: Axel Mitts (ravelry)

Source: Blue Garter

Yarn: Rowan, Cocoon

Needles: US 9

Started: November 12, 2008

Finished: November 14, 2008

Find it on Ravelry here.

I was feeling a bit blue last week and decided I need an instant gratification project to take my mind off it.  I’d bought the Cocoon at Stitches with these mitts in mind, so I thought that would be the perfect thing.  I got to use new yarn and see my progress fly by at the same time.  These mitts worked up incredibly quickly and the chunky and extremely fuzzy nature of the yarn makes them very cozy.  They were the perfect pick me up project; great fun to knit and a treat to wear.

