It’s been a while since we’ve had a real live FO post here at knitting pretty in dc.  It’s not that I haven’t been finishing things, I have, but many slipped by unphotographed or weren’t especially notable.  But I have for you now my first FO of 2009.

Pattern: Two-Yarn Resolable Socks (ravelry)

Source: Favorite Socks

Yarn: Yarn Nerd, 1200 MHz Merino

& Ella Rae, Classic

Needles: US 3 & 4

Started: November 25, 2008

Finished: January 14, 2009

Find it on Ravelry here.

These were another project born out of necessity.   After wearing a hole in the back of my favorite boots, I found another pair of practical, yet adorable boots that I could actually afford.  The hitch of course was that they were sold out of my size and I would have to go up a size to score the awesome boots.  Conveniently I tend to prefer a little extra room in my boots so that I have space for wool socks in the winter.  The new boots have just a little more space than usual, which is where the big fat boot socks come in.  Bigger and fatter than my other wool socks, they fill up the extra room so the boots feel great.

While looking for patterns to fill this need I saw the Two-Yarn Resolable Socks in the copy of Favorite Socks my parents gave me for my birthday.  Luckily I had the gorgeous yarn Kirsten sent to me sitting in my stash waiting for me to come up with something to do with it.  I cast on while the boots were still in the mail.  The end result is an extremely warm and cozy pair of socks that since being finished have been worn almost as often as the boots (which is more often than I’d like to admit).

