After my trip to London, I found myself unexpectedly flying to the San Francisco Bay area. Unfortunately it was not on the best of terms, but there were still some very nice moments with family and friends. One such experience was an outing to Oakland for snacks at Bakesale Betty’s and to check out Article Pract.

Article Pract has been very high on my list of knitting stores to check out for a long time now. I’ve often seen photos of the shop and been envious of those who get to frequent it. The store is deifnitely gorgeous. It is filled virtually to the ceiling with luscious yarn.

Not every knitting store has a defined and distinct aesthetic. I don’t really perceive this as a problem, plenty of my favorite LYSs don’t focus on aesthetic, but instead on having a really solid collection of yarn. That is my number one priority, but sometimes it is nice to go into a LYS that focuses on presentation as well. And in this department Article Pract is spot on. I can’t help but love the way it looks.

As for the yarn itself they definitely had some very nice choices. The slight bummer was that most of the things I really wanted were significantly out of my price range. And some of the most interesting things I could afford were a bit picked through in the color department. I overhead one of the shop girls attributing this to post Christmas rush selection, which of course is completely understandable. But I had to wander for awhile before I found some things I really could take home. Of course, in the end, I did.

Yarn: Koigu, KPPPM

Color: 429

Dye Lot: 83

Amount: 1 skein at 175 yds

Purchased at: Article Pract, Oakland, CA

stashed on ravelry here

Yarn: Pear Tree, 8 ply

Color: Moss

Dye Lot:

Amount: 2 skeins at 107 yds each

Purchased at: Article Pract, Oakland, CA

stashed on ravelry here

Since I’ve recently become obsessed with berets (mostly since I convinced myself I could pull them off) it’s distinctly possibly that’s what both these yarns will become. The Koigu was purchased to be the Purl Beret, but I’ve yet to choose what the Pear Tree will be. Stay tuned to find out.

