I’m at home in bed and sick, but since I’ve been sleeping for a big chunk of the day I think I can muster the energy to talk about knitting for a little bit. Let me show you one of those backed up FOs I’ve been talking so much about lately.

I started this scarf last spring and was loving it for awhile, but two thirds of the way through I burnt out on it.  The lace pattern is very simple and 80″ is pretty long in fingering weight yarn.  The repetition just go to be too much.  But once I picked it up again a little while ago it felt new enough again that I could power through to then end.  So here it is…

Pattern: Lace Ribbon Scarf

Source: Knitty Spring 2008

Yarn: Louet, Gems Fingering Weight

Needles: US 2.5

Started: May 4, 2008

Finished: January 30, 2009

Find it on Ravelry here.

Although I did reach a point of burn out on this project there were long stretches of time when I found it very soothing.  The easy lace pattern made for good relaxation knitting and it had a flow that I generally don’t feel from scarf patterns.  I love scarves, but they tend not to be the most enjoyable knits.  It was only the length that made it hard to finish.  But with a break the soothing feeling was back and now ti’s done and spending a lot of time around my neck.

Another factor that made this scarf more manageable was the yarn.  Gems Fingering is a definite contender for my favorite yarn of all time.  I made my Pleated Skirt out of Gems Opal, a previous incarnation of basically the same yarn.  And as much as I love beautiful hand dyed yarns, Malabrigo and so many yarns out there, I love Gems for it’s feel and it’s versatility.  Gems is incredibly soft.  It feels just as good to work with as it does to wear.  It’s machine washable and dryable.  It comes in a wide range of lovely colors.  Variety is nice, but Gems is a yarn I know I can come back to again and again.

