Last weekend the boy & I took a little getaway to New York.  We had a great time and he humored me with a little trip to School Products.  He snapped this while I was browsing around.

There’s not a lot about school products that hasn’t already been written.  It’s cropped up in a number of blogs lately.  So I’ll limit myself to a few brief thoughts.  There was a lot of really lovely yarn, but the bargains weren’t quite as good as I expected.  That said, I left with a few things I’m very happy with.

Yarn: School Products, Yak Merino Worsted

Color:

Dye Lot: —

Amount: 7 ounces at 500 yds

Purchased at: School Products, New York, New York

stashed on ravelry here

For my School Products exclusive purchase I picked the Yak Merino.  After feeling the sample knit up in this yarn I was really impressed.  Once it’s washed the strands blend together and it softens a great deal.  And this color is incredibly unique.  It’s still a neutral, but it’s got so much depth to it.

Yarn: Koigu, KPM

Color: 2200 & 1500

Dye Lot: 64 & 109

Amount: 3 Skein at 175 yds each

Purchased at: School Products, NY

stashed on ravelry here & here

I also picked up this KPM to make a really bright pair of stranded mitten.  Maybe it’s the coming Spring, but I’ve been drawn to crazy color combinations.

