Look at me!  I have an FO & pictures so I can actually show it to you!  It’s been too long since my last FO post, but since I’m devoting June to finishing (mostly) I’m hoping to have even more to show you soon.  For now I’ve got my Ulmus shawl that I made for the Fans of Through the Loops group on ravelry.

Pattern: Ulmus (ravelry)

Source: Through the Loops

Yarn: Malabrigo, Sock & Claudia Hand Painted Yarns, Fingering

Needles: US 4

Started: May 10, 2009

Finished: June 9, 2009

Find it on Ravelry here.

Kirsten has come through with another great pattern for the Ulmus.  It’s a beautiful design and wonderfully written.  The main body of the shawl becomes good mindless knitting once you get the feel for it and then the lace spices things up a bit towards the end.  And it has good stashbusting potential for those of you who are into that kind of thing (not me, I of course bought more yarn for this project).

I did actually start out with a different color combination before I went with this one.  I had initially chosen two colors of Malabrigo Sock in Lettuce and Eggplant.  In the balls the colors looked lovely together, but in the pattern it was too much contrast for my taste.  I went hunting for other options and settled on these.  I’m so glad I did.  While it’s a rather unexpected color combination for me, I think it’s really beautiful and I love that I ended with a result that is unlike anything else I own.

The shawl comes in three sizes and I chose to make the Medium.  Before starting I did swatch & check gauge, but I must have loosened up as I went because once I blocked, the shawl came out to the dimensions listed for the Large.  It’s bigger than most of my shawls, but it’s been fun to play with how to wear it.  And I managed to work it in a few days before it started to get quite hot and humid around here.  Oh, and did I mention how great it feels to be finishing things?

