The shawl parade continues!  This time I’ve got my own version of the lovely Textured Shawl Recipe in the Merino/Yak yarn I got from School products.

Pattern: Textured Shawl Recipe

Source: Orlane’s Ravelry Downloads

Yarn: School Products, Yak Merino Worsted

Needles: US 8

Started: April 1, 2009

Finished: July 8, 2009

Find it on Ravelry here.

This is less of a pattern and more of a formula, but it yields beautiful results.  I’ve yet to see an example I didn’t like (I dare you to look at the Ravelry Project Gallery if you don’t believe me).  And I’m similarly very pleased with my own version.  It looks lovely and will be incredibly cuddly once Fall begins.

This was a great yarn choice for this pattern.  Because of the complex kind of color, I wanted to do something simple and focus on showing off the yarn.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with School Products, most of their worsted weight yarns, this one included, are really very fine strand run, but not plied, together.  In this particular application, the textured stitch makes that construction really visible and it’s an effect I’m quite fond of.  It’s also insanely soft post blocking and is sure to be super warm.

I decided to use slightly different row counts of the different stitch patterns than the original.  Mine went like this:

20 rows stockinette
16 rows texture pattern
20 rows stockinette
16 row texture pattern
20 rows stockinette
6 rows texture pattern
26 rows garter stitch

I expect you’ll see other warmer, heavier shawls from me in the future.  I’ve been thinking I might just wear this type of shawl instead of scarves this Fall and Winter and have a few more in mind.  They’ll have to wait a bit though, as the classic hot & sticky DC Summer has finally set in.  In the meantime, I’ll try & finish a non-shawl project to show you for once.  But if I were you I wouldn’t hold my breath.