Ladies and Gentlemen, for you today I have something special. I have a combo post both with an FO and with a pattern. My first real pattern in fact. I’ve been designing things for ages, but usually as I go along, with no notes kept. So today, it is with great pleasure that I offer you the first knittingprettyindc pattern.

Pattern: Prettybird Neckwarmer (ravelry)

Source: knittingprettyindc (right here in this very post!)

Yarn: Fleece Artist, Blue Faced Leicester DK

Needles: US 3

Started: November 23, 2008

Finished: November 27, 2008

Find it on Ravelry here.

This is a quick knit, simple with just a little something to keep it interesting to the eye and in the hands. The name comes from a favorite nickname from a favorite friend of mine. It’s sweet and simple, but it makes me feel special when she says it.

This neckwarmer was designed out of necessity. I recently got a new coat, and one of it’s best details is the stand-up collar. The collar can be turned down to wear scarves, but I wanted to chance to show it off sometimes. My cowls are mostly too bulky to sit under it, but with nothing underneath, the wind works it’s way in and I end up shivering. So in came a neckwarmer, fitted enough to sit well underneath the neck, but oh so very warm.

Prettybird Neckwarmer Pattern:

Yarn: About 150 yds of DK weight yarn.

Needle: US 4 straight or circular needles.*

Gauge: 8 sts= 1″ in Cable Patttern.

Prettybird Neckwarmer Pattern

Click above to download the PDF!


*You may notice that I used a US size 3 needle, but I tend to knit loosely and always have to go down at least one needle size, so if you generally knit to gauge, I estimate a size 4 will work for you.

Please let me know if you find any mistakes. Oh and you can queue it up here. Enjoy!